Sincerely, your something or other.

cc: everyone else.

Previous Entry Share Next Entry

Census meme, Canadian edition

There were a few once-a-decade snapshots of living situations out there in blogland lately. In Canada, we have a census twice as often. Here are a few details of what my living situation was around each Census time that I've been alive (including a projection for this year — early May is coming fast!)

Living in an upstairs flat with my parents in Notre Dame de Grâce, a neighbourhood west of downtown Montreal that almost every English speaker just shortens to NDG (and NDG had a lot of English speakers at the time). Chewing on doors and, at least at census time, the only kid in the house.

Living with my parents in Ormstown, a municipality with more cows (4 208*) than people (3 647*) southwest of Montreal. In Kindergarten at Census time, with Mrs. Lawrence and Annick, who were both awesome. By this time, both my siblings were born, and we had Cosmic and Maurice the cats, and Tess and Toft the dogs, I think.
Still in Ormstown, and in fifth grade. I think that was the year I did a science fair project on the sun, with a big model of the sun built around a salad bowl that my mum helped me build. Minty and Hammock (she was good at flattening herself out to get under things) were the cats around the house, I believe.
In Ormstown, but not for long. I would've been in grade 10 for Census time, and looking forward to a summer job of working on agriculture- and community- related websites. By this time, I was bicycling around a lot: I had some friends in the 20-40 km distance and biking there definitely beat bumming rides.
I was actually at StatCan as a co-op student at Census time in 2001, working on Census Edit and Imputation. I think I filled out my Census forms from my “permanent” address in downtown Montreal, with two roommates, one of whom was actually around a lot (and was a generally kind of awesome roommate). I was moving about once a year for several years, though, so permanent is relative.
This was the one year in my life that I was the lone human in the house, living with my cat Noisette. I was in a little two-and-a-half pretty close to the place I had been living in 2001, very well-heated by an ancient radiator system. Elizabeth was over a lot, but we were at separate addresses at Census time. This was also a year of fighting off bedbugs.
This year, at Census-and-(ahem)-National-Household-Survey time, my form will include a spouse and a baby. We're living in our own place in Hull, and I'll still be home to help take care of Oscar, but getting ready. We have two cats: Noisette and Pixel.

*2001 Census figures

This is a copy of an entry on Dreamwidth. There are comment count unavailable comments on the original entry.

  • 1
asimplelife March 15th, 2011
And in NDG methinks your MP was Warren Allmand.

  • 1

Log in

No account? Create an account